Lost in the hinterlands

08/10/2009 at 5:53 am (Uncategorized) (, )

A couple of weeks ago I builta new website on Windows Live Small Business site.  I discovered yesterday that it could not be found by searching on Google, Yahoo!, or even Microsoft’s new Bing search, not even under my name or the name of the site.  All because to build the site, I use tools, rather than HTML and I didn’t know about the Search optimization section of Page Properties.  So I change the tags infor and the descprition.  We’ll see.  However, in the not to distance future, I’m going to choose a host where I can build the site from the ground up, Meta Tags and all.

You’d think I’d have figured out about the compromises inherent in using a hosting service’s tools, after all I did have a site on Geocities, and it attracted almost no attention either.  Oh well, gentle readers, Now that I have some experience under my belt, with hosting services,  and I’ve learned how to use HTML, XML, DHTML, XHTML, and JavaScript, I guess I oughta build my next website, the right way (for me), program it from the ground up.  Either it works, or it don’t.  If it don’t I fix it, cause at least I can see and manipulate the actual code that makes it work.

For what it’s worth, I think of websites, computer software, CGI kinda like the Wizard of Oz, What’s behind the curtain, in other words the actual code that makes it work, is far more interesting than the actual illusion of order.  I was a hell of a lot of fun at a magic show as a kid, I just had to figure out what made it work.  And it was the same whether it was the universe at large, or DNA, and everything in between.

And the lesson for today, never be frustrated by how things are, figure out how they work, and learn to fix it yourself.  And at that I will bid you, my readers, adieu.

Leave a Reply

